Cooking

What products contain gluten? We give you a hint!

mohamed hassouna/unsplash.com

Gluten is a mixture of plant proteins that is found in mixtures of many grains. Its consumption has a particularly adverse effect on the digestive system of people who struggle with celiac disease or have a gluten allergy. We list the products that are best to exclude from your diet because of their gluten content.

Gluten – what is it and where can you find it?

Gluten is most often found in wheat and its varieties, but it is also present in barley. It is contained in cereals and allows the dough to maintain its taste and elasticity. It is thanks to gluten that bread and other baked goods retain their fluffiness and resist drying out

Although most of the population can tolerate gluten well, for a certain percentage of people it can be very harmful. Therefore, people with celiac disease or a gluten allergy should primarily exclude flour products from their diet. These foods include bread, pasta, some groats, but also many highly processed products, which include ready-made sauces and other dishes.

Consumption of gluten, especially in excessive amounts, can lead to damage of the villi located in the intestines. This leads to problems with absorption of nutrients, but also with intestinal function. Ultimately, this leads to frequent constipation or, conversely, diarrhea and recurrent abdominal pain.

If we are accompanied by an allergy, but we do not suffer from celiac disease, strong stomach symptoms will not appear after eating gluten. Instead, consumption of the ingredient will cause a reaction on the skin in the form of allergies, pimples and redness. Moreover, gluten consumption can also have psychological symptoms in the form of lowered mood and general discouragement.

Examples of gluten-containing products

As already mentioned, the main source of gluten is wheat and other cereals, which include spelt, durum, rye or barley. The list of products containing it is really long.

Foods that have gluten in them are e.g. bread and pasta, but also cold meats, yogurt and spice mixtures

Thanks to the growing awareness of both food manufacturers and the public about gluten and its effects, more and more gluten-free products are appearing on store shelves. They are tested for ingredient purity and marked with the crossed ear symbol. Such food is safe to eat for people with celiac disease or a wheat allergy.

As a result, such people no longer have to give up their favorite snacks or dishes for a very restrictive diet. The availability of products with the crossed out wheat mark allows them to enjoy life to the fullest and enjoy the taste of prepared meals. Alternatives include rice products, which are gluten-free but can have a high glycemic index.

The wide variety of gluten-exclusion product alternatives allows you to tailor your diet to your taste preferences.

Main photo: mohamed hassouna/unsplash.com

Related posts
Cooking

Compact appliances for the kitchen - ideal for a single person

Looking for ways to make your life easier and save time and space in the kitchen? Compact appliances are what you need. Check out these most popular ones.
Read more
Cooking

Get Your Hands on Some Serious Beef Jerky at Your Next Party

Beef Slab Puck Jerky is one of those party foods that’s just perfect for the occasion, but it can be difficult to find the kind that’s actually worth eating. That’s why we’ve compiled this list of the best beef snacks around so you can go shopping with confidence at your next get together and keep your guests coming back for more.
Read more
Cooking

Warming cure - the best recipe

The best dinner for cold days? Of course, it's butcher's treat. This dish, which is popular in Hungary, is excellent especially in autumn and winter.
Read more

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *