What products contain gluten? We give you a hint!

What products contain gluten? We give you a hint!
/
/
Cooking
It takes approx. 3 minutes to read this article

Gluten is a mixture of plant proteins that is found in mixtures of many grains. Its consumption has a particularly adverse effect on the digestive system of people who struggle with celiac disease or have a gluten allergy. We list the products that are best to exclude from your diet because of their gluten content.

Gluten – what is it and where can you find it?

Gluten is most often found in wheat and its varieties, but it is also present in barley. It is contained in cereals and allows the dough to maintain its taste and elasticity. It is thanks to gluten that bread and other baked goods retain their fluffiness and resist drying out

Although most of the population can tolerate gluten well, for a certain percentage of people it can be very harmful. Therefore, people with celiac disease or a gluten allergy should primarily exclude flour products from their diet. These foods include bread, pasta, some groats, but also many highly processed products, which include ready-made sauces and other dishes.

Consumption of gluten, especially in excessive amounts, can lead to damage of the villi located in the intestines. This leads to problems with absorption of nutrients, but also with intestinal function. Ultimately, this leads to frequent constipation or, conversely, diarrhea and recurrent abdominal pain.

If we are accompanied by an allergy, but we do not suffer from celiac disease, strong stomach symptoms will not appear after eating gluten. Instead, consumption of the ingredient will cause a reaction on the skin in the form of allergies, pimples and redness. Moreover, gluten consumption can also have psychological symptoms in the form of lowered mood and general discouragement.

Examples of gluten-containing products

As already mentioned, the main source of gluten is wheat and other cereals, which include spelt, durum, rye or barley. The list of products containing it is really long.

Foods that have gluten in them are e.g. bread and pasta, but also cold meats, yogurt and spice mixtures

Thanks to the growing awareness of both food manufacturers and the public about gluten and its effects, more and more gluten-free products are appearing on store shelves. They are tested for ingredient purity and marked with the crossed ear symbol. Such food is safe to eat for people with celiac disease or a wheat allergy.

As a result, such people no longer have to give up their favorite snacks or dishes for a very restrictive diet. The availability of products with the crossed out wheat mark allows them to enjoy life to the fullest and enjoy the taste of prepared meals. Alternatives include rice products, which are gluten-free but can have a high glycemic index.

The wide variety of gluten-exclusion product alternatives allows you to tailor your diet to your taste preferences.

Main photo: mohamed hassouna/unsplash.com

Add comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Latest articles
Recommended articles
4 types of pots you should have in your home!
/
4 types of pots you should have in your home!
See which pots should not be missing in your kitchen. Here are 4 types that are worth having in your home.
7 ideas for changing the look of your home – fast and cheap
/
7 ideas for changing the look of your home – fast and cheap
Each of us from time to time likes to make changes in our surroundings. If we can't move, why not transform your apartment at least a little?
Why Organic Meat is Better for You and the Environment
/
Why Organic Meat is Better for You and the Environment
Eating organic meat is becoming increasingly popular and for good reason.